Ireland – Women’s Senior Squad Announced for Celtic Cup

Posted On 26th May 2011

The following players have been selected to play for Ireland at the Celtic Cup from 3 – 6 June 2011, in Largs, Scotland:
1.Hannah Bowe (Slough)
2.Emma Clarke (Leicester)
3.Lizzie Colvin   (HGC)
4.Aine Connery (Hermes)
5.Miriam Crowley (UCC)
6.Emma Gray (Hermes)
7.Michelle Harvey (Pegasus)
8.Lisa Jacob (Hermes)
9.Sinead McCarthy (Hermes)
10.Shirley McCay (Old Alex)
11.Jean McDonnell (Railway Union)
12.Audrey O’Flynn (Hermes)
13.Julia O’Halloran (Railway Union)
14.Cliodhna Sargent (Cork Harlequins)
15.Pamela Smithwick (Old Alex)
16.Emma Smyth (Railway Union)
17.Alex Speers  (Cpt  –  Railway Union)
18.Chloe Watkins (UCD)

Gene Muller, Womens National Coach, speaks of the timing of the Celtic Cup ” We have not played against Wales in two years and Scotland has been a regular opponent for us. Both Celtic Cup matches will be very competitive and exactly what our team needs at this stage of our preparation for the ESB Electric Ireland Champions Challenge I. Our players are excited to be playing these matches after a demanding preparation stage. ”

Match Schedule:
Match 1:Saturday 4 June 2011 vs. Wales (Celtic Cup match)
Match 2:Sunday 5 June 2011 vs. Scotland (Celtic Cup match)
Match 3:Monday 6 June 2011 vs. Scotland (Additional match)

Please note: Nikki Symmons, Niamh Small and Nikki Daly of Loreto HC were not considered for selction as they travel to Lille, France  for  EuroHockey Club Champions Challenge II From 10-13 June 2011.

Source: Irish Hockey Association

Related Posts

EHF Announces New Committees

The EHF has announced today new Committees for the period January 2020 - December 2021. Some changes have been made to the structure of the Committees to reflect the current and proposed work of the EHF. The President, Marijke Fleuren said "I would like to sincerely...

Report from the Final EHF Board meeting of the decade!

The Executive Board met in Brussels, Belgium for the last meeting of 2019, indeed the last meeting of this decade. The President, Marijke Fleuren welcomed everybody and especially the new members for their first meeting in the EHF Office in Brussels. The President...