HOCKEY: ESB Electric Ireland FIH Women’s Champion Challenge I Squad Announced

Posted On 8th June 2011

Wednesday 8th June 2011

Gene Muller has announced a squad of 18 players who will take part in the upcoming ESB Electric Ireland FIH Women’s Champions Challenge I from the 18th – 26th June. Ireland will play hosts to some of the world’s top teams as they descend on the National Hockey Stadium in UCD for over a week. This nine day world ranking event sees Ireland compete against Azerbaijan, India, Spain, Japan, Scotland, South Africa and the USA.

Muller’s squad, which has an average age of 23.8 years, has just returned from the Celtic Cup and will no doubt be keen to impress especially knowing that the EuroHockey Nations Championship is only two months away.

Commenting on the tournament ahead, National Coach Gene Muller says “Our team is very excited to be playing in a FIH tournament at home. We are honoured to be hosting so many high quality teams and we want to perform well.  We are very lucky that our team are all fit and playing well. These players will be eager to do well at this tournament as there are EuroHockey Nations tournament positions at stake.”

ESB Electric Ireland Champions Challenge I Squad

18th – 26th June

Emma Gray (GK)           Hermes                         22
Pamela Smithwick         Old Alex                        3
Michelle Harvey             Pegasus                       49
Cliodhna Sargent           Cork Harlequins             77
Emma Smyth                Railway Union                35
Emma Clarke (VC)         Leicester                       103
Alexandra Speers (C)     Railway Union                87
Shirley McCay               Old Alex                        103
Jean McDonnell             Railway Union                8
Lisa Jacob                     Hermes                         77
Julia O’Halloran              Railway Union                57
Sinead McCarthy           Hermes                         15
Aine Connery                 Hermes                         18
Nicola Symmons           Loreto                           145
Audrey O’Flynn              Hermes                         26
Chloe Watkins               UCD                             11
Elizabeth Colvin             HGC                             45
Nicola Davy                   Loreto                           13

Manager: Sally Ann Fanagan
Coach: Gene Muller
Stand In Manager: Sarah Canning
Assistant Coach: Denis Pritchard
Physiotherapist: Dave Minnion

Match Schedule

Date                 Time     Pool      Match

Sat 18 Jun  10:00    A          Japan v United States

12:30    A          South Africa v Scotland

15:00    B          India v Ireland

17:30    B          Spain v Azerbaijan

Sun 19 Jun  10:30    A          United States v Scotland

13:00    A          South Africa v Japan

15:30    B          Azerbaijan v Ireland

18:00    B          India v Spain

Mon 20 June REST DAY

Tues 21 June 11:00    A          Japan v Scotland

13:30    A          United States v South Africa

16:00 B             Azerbaijan v India

18:30 B             Spain v Ireland

Wed 22 June REST DAY

Thurs 23 June 10:00       QF        1st Pool A v 4th Pool B

12:30    QF        2nd Pool B v 3rd Pool A

15:00    QF        2nd Pool A v 3rd Pool B

17:30    QF        1st Pool B v 4th Pool A


Fri 24 June        15:30    5/8

18:00    5/8

Sat 25 June       13:00    SF

15:30    SF

Sun 26 June      09:00    7/8

11:30    5/6

14:00    3/4

16:30    FINAL

Tickets to the ESB Electric Ireland FIH Women’s Champions Challenge I start at just €5 and are available by Clicking Here

For further information please contact Katie or Kiara at /

Related Posts

EHF Announces New Committees

The EHF has announced today new Committees for the period January 2020 - December 2021. Some changes have been made to the structure of the Committees to reflect the current and proposed work of the EHF. The President, Marijke Fleuren said "I would like to sincerely...

Report from the Final EHF Board meeting of the decade!

The Executive Board met in Brussels, Belgium for the last meeting of 2019, indeed the last meeting of this decade. The President, Marijke Fleuren welcomed everybody and especially the new members for their first meeting in the EHF Office in Brussels. The President...