Posted On 26th July 2011

Ireland got off to a flyer in the 1st game of the INSEP CHALLGNE in Paris this afternoon defeating the Worlds No. 6th ranked team Korea by 5-1.  Ireland were 4-0 up at half time with a double strike from Geoff McCabe in the 4th & 6th minutes both from open play.  In the 27 min from a counter attack Michael Watt made it 3-0 and 2 minutes from the half time whistle Ireland went 4 clear after initial good work by Peter Caruth and Timmy Cockram and from the follow up play Andy McConnell broke to shoot Ireland into a 4-0 half time lead.

Ireland started the 2nd half with a penalty corner in the 2nd minute and had the ball in the net but it was disallowed.  Harte made a fine save in the 5th minute and from a penalty corner 2 minutes later Korea got one back.  Korea piled on the pressure, despite being reduced to 10 men for a period, with Harte again called into action to make two fine saves.  In the 20th minute from an Irish PC Jermyn forced the Korean keeper into a fine save but from the resulting long corner Ireland extended their lead with Darling slipping the ball to Mikey Watt for a fine finish.  Harte had to be at his best to deny Korea but it was Ireland who finished with a PC of their own on the hooter but the attempt was well saved.  Ireland’s next game will be at 15.00 tomorrow Wednesday when the take on World No. 1’s Australia

Tuesday 26th July

14.30 Korea v Ireland 1-5
17.00 France v Argentina

Wednesday 27th July

15.00 Ireland v Australia

Thursday 28th July

14.30 Australia v Argentina
17.00 France v Korea

Friday 29th July

15.00 Ireland v Argentina

Saturday 30th July

14.00 Australia v Korea
16.30 Ireland v France

Sunday 31st July

12.00 Argentina v Korea
14.30 France v Australia

Irish Squad; INSEP 5 Nations

Paris 26th – 30th July 2011

David Ames (Beeston)
Chris Cargo (Reading)
Peter Caruth (Annadale)
Tim Cockram (Lisnagarvey)
Mitch Darling (Den Bosch)
David Fitzgerald (Monkstown) GK
Paul Gleghorne (Instonians)
Ronan Gormley (Club de Campo) Capt
Conor Harte (SCHC)
David Harte (SCHC) GK
John Jackson (Mossley)
John Jermyn (Cork C of I)
Eugene Magee (Dragons)
Geoff McCabe (Santander)
Bruce McCandless (Banbridge)
Andy McConnell (Hurley)
Ian Sloan (Cookstown)
Michael Watt (Santander)
Paul Revington (Coach)
Arul Anthoni (Asst Coach & Manager)
David Richards (Physio)
Stephen Barry (S&C/Video)

Related Posts

EHF Announces New Committees

The EHF has announced today new Committees for the period January 2020 - December 2021. Some changes have been made to the structure of the Committees to reflect the current and proposed work of the EHF. The President, Marijke Fleuren said "I would like to sincerely...

Report from the Final EHF Board meeting of the decade!

The Executive Board met in Brussels, Belgium for the last meeting of 2019, indeed the last meeting of this decade. The President, Marijke Fleuren welcomed everybody and especially the new members for their first meeting in the EHF Office in Brussels. The President...