Germany take the EuroHockey Indoor title for the 14th time…

Posted On 19th January 2014

The Final day here in Vienna and an intense day for all 8 teams with so much at stake for all of them! Medals for some, World Cup places, Relegation for others.
The day started with the Relegation C Pool and 2 essential games of the 4 teams. Czech Repubic and Netherlands the ultimate winners of their places in the Championships in 2016 and FIH Indoor World Cup slots in 2015.
After a close start by both teams, England took the lead thanks to a goal by no. 11 Chris Griffiths in the 7th minute. Halftime score (1-0)
The second half started out with England once more fighting to stay in the top tier, with a goal by no. 9 Simon Egerton (2-0). But Czech Republic would not be easily overcome, and after some good possession, no.21 David Bacek brought the score to 2-1. In the 33rd minute, Czech Republic’s no. 7 Stepan Bernatek scored the equaliser (2-2), and 2 minutes later, they were in the lead, goal from no. 8 Ondrej Vudmaska and the final result was 2-3, which means relegation for England
Final Score
England – Czech Republic 3B 2-3 (1-0)
Sweden came out strong, scoring within the first 30 seconds, goal from no. 17 Magnus Matsson. But the Netherlands were not easily put down, and in the 5th minute, no. 10 and captain Robert Tigges responded. In the 5th minute, Sweden took the lead with a PC goal by no. 10 Johan Bjorkman (1-2). One minute later, Netherlands’ no. 8, Mirco Pruijser equalised (2-2) and in the 18th minute gave Netherlands the lead (3-2).
Second half opened with a goal in the 22nd minute by no. 8 Mirco Pruijser, scoring his hat trick (4-2). The 30th minute brought a Swedish goal, again by no. 10 Johan Bjorkman, narrowing the Dutch lead (4-3). A PC for Sweden in the 34th minute brought the equaliser, by once again, no.10 Johan Bjorkman (4-4). A penalty stroke for the Netherlands was masterly defended by the Swedish keeper, no. 32 Karl Moberg. With 3 minutes left in the clock, no. 8 Mirco Pruijser gave the Netherlands the advantage (5-4). Sweden’s Johan Bjorkman missed the chance to equalize in the 38th minute, hitting the post in a penalty stroke. The Netherlands sealed the deal with a 39th minute goal by its captain, no. 10 Robert Tigges (6-4) and another goal with seconds left on the clock (7-4). Sweden is thus relegated to the Indoor Championship II in 2016.
Final Score:
3A Netherlands – Sweden 4B 7-4 (3-2)
3/4 Bronze – RUSSIA v POLAND
Poland took the lead 6 minutes in, goal by no. 8 Rachwalski (0-1). Within a minute, Russia’s no. 10 Alexander Zhirkov had equalised (1-1). Russia took the advantage in the 16th minute with a goal from no. 2 Evgeny Mokrousov (2-1). With one minute to go in the first half, Poland’s no 17. Krystian Makowski scored the equaliser, end of first half 2-2.
In the 32nd minute, Russia obtained the lead once again, with a goal by no.10 Alexander Zhirkov (3-2). In the 37th minute, Russia went ahead with a goal by no.9 Alexander Likov (4-2), but Poland would not give up and with 2 minutes on the clock, no. 9 and captain Rachwalski scored (4-3). Russia, however, proved too much for Poland, blocking all chances at a draw, and walked away with the Bronze medal.
Final Score:
Russia – Poland 4-3 (2-2)
The Final of the EuroHockey Indoor Championship started out with Germany asserting its dominance, within two minutes of the first whistle, Germany’s captain no. 21 Moritz Furste scored the first goal (0-1). But with the crowd’s support, Austria quickly equalised, in the 4th minute with a goal by no. 9 Michael Korper (1-1). In the 13th minute, no. 9 Michael Korper made the Austrian crowd go wild as Austria took the lead (2-1). Germany was quick to equalize 3 minutes later as no. 21 Moritz Furste scored from a PC (2-2), and in the 18th minute, Furste scored his hat trick, putting Germany ahead (2-3). But this was short-lived, as Austria would not be intimidated and quickly answered with a goal of its own, by no. 5 Sebastian Eitenberger (3-3). Halftime score was 3-3.
The second half saw the two sides begin with caution, but Germany gained the upper hand after a PC in the 34th minute, no. 8 Richardo Nevado with a drag flick (3-4). In the 36th minute, no. 5 Constantin Staib (3-5), and in the 39th minute, no. 9 Michael Korper for Austria (4-5). In the last 20 seconds, Austria’s fantastic efforts pull them through and Michael Korper equalises in a PC (5-5). Shoot-out!
After all players made their attempts successfully, it went to sudden death. Austria’s no. 13 Benjamin Stanzl missed. Moritz Fuerste scored and Germany is the EuroHockey Indoor Champions 2014! Their 14th title in the history of the Tournament.
Final Score: Austria – Germany 5-5 (3-3) 3-4 Sudden Death SO
Fair Play Trophy: Poland, awarded by TD Harald Steckelbruck.
Best Player: Johan Bjorkman (SWE) (15 goals)
Top Scorer: 15 goals, Moritz Fuerste (GER)
Best GoalKeeper: Felix Reuss (GER)
Final Ranking:
1 Germany, EuroHockey Indoor Champions 2014
2 Austria
3 Russia
4 Poland
5 Netherlands
6 Czech Republic
7 Sweden, Relegated to Indoor Championship II 2016
8 England, Relegated to Indoor Championship II 2016
Photograph: Marijke Fleuren, EHF President enjoys presenting Mo Fuerste the European Cup as he shows it to his team in anticipation! (EHF/Norbert Gruener (c))

Related Posts

Christmas comes early for Georgian Hockey!

The EHF is delighted to announce that whilst we will be launching the EHF Solidarity Grant system in 2021, the hockey players in Georgia will be the first to receive a much needed boost with sticks and balls coming directly from the EHF in the coming weeks! Recently...

EHF Executive Board Meeting – December 2020

The EHF Executive Board will have its final 2020 meeting via video conference on 12th December 2020. Agenda Presidents Welcome World Cup Qualification Update and discussion EHC 2023 Bid Recommendation Indoor Commercial Update Finance Update Committee Reports A full...