A surprise start to the Fintro EuroHockey Junior Championships as Spain draw with The Netherlands

Posted On 20th July 2014

Photograph: Thierry Brinkman (NED) (EHF/Frank Uijlenbroek (c))
Netherlands and Spain draw 3-3
The first men’s game at the Fintro Junior EuroHockey Championships between the Netherlands and Spain started of with a minute of silence in respect for the victims of the plane crash earlier this week.
This first match in men’s pool B brought a lot of goals. In the first minute Albert Beltran already opened the score for Spain on a reverse shot. Johannes Luijkx brought the Netherlands on equal level with a powerful drag flick on PC. 18 minutes in the Netherlands got in front thanks to a reverse shot by Thierry Brinkman.
In the 46th minute Marc Bolto brought Spain back on equal level. The Netherlands thought they secured the 3 points after Bram van Groesen scored the 3-2 on PC 10 minutes before full time. However a PC 2 minutes later brought Spain again on level score.

3-3 (2-1)
‘1 Albert Beltran (ESP) (0-1, FG)
’11 Johannes Luijkx (NED) (1-1, PC)
’18 Thierry Brinkman (NED) (2-1, FG)
’46 Marc Bolto (ESP) (2-2, FG)
’60 Bram van Groesen (NED) (3-2, PC)
’62 Eduardo Garriga (ESP (3-3, PC)
Germany open with a goal fest against Austria
The Germans dominated the game immediately. After 10 minutes Wellen scored the first of many goals for Germany. All the Austrian attempts were repelled. In the 24th minute Germany scored on their second penalty corner of the game with a beautiful drag flick by Grambusch
In the second half Austria seem to had lost their confidence. The game intensified and became very physical. In the 52nd Gomoll scored the 3-0 and two minutes later Windfeder extended the German lead on a PC. Windfeder scored his second of the game with another PC 6 minutes before full time. Hüttermann and Staib put the final score on the board 7-0

7-0 (2-0)
’10 Niklas Wellen (GER) (FG, 1-0)
’25 Tom Grambusch (GER) (PC, 2-0)
’52 Jonas Gomoll (GER) (FG, 3-0)
’54 Lukas Windfeder (GER) (PC, 4-0)
’64 Lukus Windfeder (GER) (PC, 5-0)
’67 Henning Hütterman (GER) (FG, 6-0)
’70 Constantin Staib (GER) (FG, 7-0)

Photograph:  Constatin Staib (GER) (EHF/Frank Uijlenbroek (c))

Related Posts

Christmas comes early for Georgian Hockey!

The EHF is delighted to announce that whilst we will be launching the EHF Solidarity Grant system in 2021, the hockey players in Georgia will be the first to receive a much needed boost with sticks and balls coming directly from the EHF in the coming weeks! Recently...

EHF Executive Board Meeting – December 2020

The EHF Executive Board will have its final 2020 meeting via video conference on 12th December 2020. Agenda Presidents Welcome World Cup Qualification Update and discussion EHC 2023 Bid Recommendation Indoor Commercial Update Finance Update Committee Reports A full...