Women’s Club Champions Trophy in Minsk – Day one

21st May 2015

The EuroHockey Club Champions Trophy, Women, began in Minsk today.

The day started with 2 match ups from pool B: Atasport v MSC Sumchanka opened the tournament, with a close game, which ultimately went to the Azerbaijani team. Atasport v MSC Sumchanka 2:1 (1-0)

Belgium’s Royal Wellington was up next, playing against the Irish Pembroke Wanderers HC. Royal Wellington was shut out from goal for most of the first half, but finished the first half strong, scoring twice before the whistle. The second half brought the Belgian girls another opportunity thanks to a penalty corner, and the game was done.  Royal Wellington v Pembroke Wanderers HC 3-0 (2-0)

UHC Hamburg met Russia’s HC Metrostroy. In another good match up, Metrostroy defense showed skill, but failed to save Jana Teschke’s goal during the first half. A penalty corner in the second half secured a win for the German side. UHC Hamburg v HC Metrostroy 2-0 (1-0)

The last match of the day saw the host HC Minsk take on Real Sociedad de Futbol SAD. The hosts had the crowd cheering them on, and pressed the Spanish side  but could not score. In the 22nd minute, Rita Batura got the home crowd going with a penalty corner shot. Spain came back , and equalised in the 33rd minute. 2 minutes later, Minsk were back on top, thanks to a PC. The second half brought a very active midfield from Minsk, and the girls were able to score once more to secure their victory. Real Sociedad de Futbol SAD v HC Minsk 1:3 (1:2)

Tomorrow’s matches:

10:00B MSC Sumchanka – Royal Wellington THC
12:15B Pembroke Wanderers – Atasport
14:30A Real Sociedad de Futbal SAD – UHC Hamburg
16:45A HC Metrostroy – HC Minsk


Our Twitter # for all the events is #EHClub15 and will be tweeted @eurohockeyorg

Results will be posted also on http://ehf.ceelectwebsite.co.uk/competitions/

All games from all competitions are live from: https://eurohockey.altiusrt.com

You May Also Like…

EHF Announces New Committees

The EHF has announced today new Committees for the period January 2020 - December 2021. Some changes have been made to...

This function has been disabled for European Hockey Archive.