EHF President Marijke Fleuren nominated to IOC Women in Sport Commission

Posted On 3rd June 2015

IOC President, Thomas Bach, has announced widespread changes to the composition and function of the IOC commissions for 2015. The changes are a direct result of the reforms stemming from implementation of Olympic Agenda 2020.

FIH President Leandro Negre has been nominated to the Olympic Solidarity Commission and Tayyab Ikram, CEO of the Asian Hockey Federation has been nominated to the Sport in Active Society Commissions.

Our very own European Hockey Federation President, Marijke Fleuren, was nominated to the Women in Sport Commission. The new make-up of the Commissions reflects the philosophy initiated by Olympic Agenda 2020, and will provide strong support to the IOC Session, the IOC Executive Board and the IOC President in the implementation of the roadmap designed to shape the future of the Olympic Movement.

Marijke Fleuren said of her nomination: “I feel very honoured to be nominated by Mr. Bach to the IOC’s Women in Sport Commission. I am very happy to be able to contribute to the advancement of women in sport, both on and off the field. I have a lot of personal experience, particularly off the field, gained through years of working in sport, a field dominated by men. I have tried to make all the men around me aware that having at the very least 2 women in all Boards, Committees, etc would add tremendous value and new insight. Wherever I go, I make it a point to urge and support women to participate and speak out! A well balanced sport structure (on all levels, including gender) is the best environment for the athletes, both women and men.”

The European Hockey Federation would like to congratulate Marijke, Leandro and Tayyab on their respective nominations.

Please click here for the full story on the IOC website.

Related Posts

Christmas comes early for Georgian Hockey!

The EHF is delighted to announce that whilst we will be launching the EHF Solidarity Grant system in 2021, the hockey players in Georgia will be the first to receive a much needed boost with sticks and balls coming directly from the EHF in the coming weeks! Recently...

EHF Executive Board Meeting – December 2020

The EHF Executive Board will have its final 2020 meeting via video conference on 12th December 2020. Agenda Presidents Welcome World Cup Qualification Update and discussion EHC 2023 Bid Recommendation Indoor Commercial Update Finance Update Committee Reports A full...