The Road to Rio… Umpires and Officials

25th September 2015

25.09.2015, Brussels; As Europe was awarded four Assistant TD roles, one Umpire Manager Role, thirteen Umpires and two Video Umpires, it was a day of great celebration!

The FIH announced yesterday the Umpire and Technical Official appointments for the Olympic Games in Rio, and with that came an intense buzz of excitement and joy over the social media channels as Umpires and Officials expressed their thrill and delight at being appointed to the pinnacle of events for not only our Athletes but those who work tirelessly on and off the field of play to ensure that the conditions for the players are safe and fair.

The EHF wishes to thank all of those who have been on #TheRoadtoRio, the dedication of our volunteers is a core part of European Hockey, we wish to acknowledge those who didn’t get selected but worked hard to be prepared. Your time will come!

Congratulations to:

Edna Rutten (NED), Sylvie Petitjean (FRA), Christian Deckenbrock (GER) and Bjorn Isberg (SWE) have all been appointed as the Assistant Technical Delegates.

Antonio Aguilera (ESP) has been appointed as a Judge

Henrik Ehlers (DEN) has been appointed as Umpires Manager

Carol Metchette (IRL) and Andy Mair (GBR) have been appointed as Video Umpires

Fanneke Alkemade (NED), Laurine Delforge (BEL), Elena Eskina (RUS), Michelle Meister (GER), Sarah Wilson (GBR), Christian Blasch (GER), Marcin Grochal (POL), Hamish Jamson (GBR), Martin Madden (GBR), Marcelo Servetto (ESP), Nathan Stagno (GBR), Coen Van Bunge (NED) and Paco Vazquez (ESP) have all been appointed as Umpires.

It’s extra special for the EHF Development Committee, Umpires Working Group and our dedicated Mentors to see the fruition of the Umpires Development Programme. 3 of the umpires who started their International careers as part of that Programme are now in the Panel for Rio! #UDPworks

See a flavour of the Tweets and Face Book shares that show the Joy and Pride! Well done to all of you!

Main photograph: Marcelo Servetto (ESP), at the recent Unibet EuroHockey Championships, London. (Frank Uijlenbroek (c)












You May Also Like…

EHF Announces New Committees

The EHF has announced today new Committees for the period January 2020 - December 2021. Some changes have been made to...

This function has been disabled for European Hockey Archive.