#FridayFocus – Umpiring Pathway and U4E umpires for 2016 announced!

Posted On 27th May 2016

The EHF Umpiring Pathway brings our top 2 tier umpiring programmes (Umpires 4 Europe and Umpires Development Programme) and creates a definite link between them. The umpiring event in Breda, which traditionally has been the opening event for the U4E programme will now also serve as a selection weekend for UDP. It is here that the committee and selectors will have an opportunity to interact and view all the umpires in action. The selection committee will include members of the Umpires Working group, the UDP Lead, Eric Denis, and a member of the Appointments Committee.

After reviewing all applications, we are happy to announce the umpires selected for the Umpiring Pathway and the U4E programme for this year:

2016 New Umpires Returning Umpires from 2015
Sophie Bockelmann GER Miriam Gero AUT
Simon Olivier FRA Luka Zupancic AUT
Ludovic Novion FRA Claire Edwards SCO
Veronika Fechter AUT Duncan Ruzzak SCO
Germaine Boutte BEL Khidash Kiyani NOR
Michael Dutrieux BEL Ivan Grgurev CRO
Alvaro Lopez ESP Anne Van Den Bosch BEL
Narcis Carrio ESP Joe Turner WAL
Sandra Adell Puig ESP Marek Zgarja CZE
Marton Wesselenyi HUN Rafael Carvalho POR
Enrico Zero ITA Abdulla Melih Karaduman TUR
Alessia Bavaro ITA Dogan Can Gokmen TUR
Kevin Roberts WAL Jake Charles ENG
Joe Astley WAL Luke Busuttil Leaver MLT
Petr Vetrovsky CZE Alistair Munro SCO
Lena McCrae SCO Hristiyan Vasilev BUL
Nikita Yuklyaevskikh RUS Thomas Holek CZE
Dmitry Zhabin RUS


The umpires will take part in a webinar conducted by John Heron on June 22nd before the opening event in Breda, where they will umpire and have a practical weekend August 26th – 28th.

The mentors for this group will be

Belen Gonzalez (ESP)

Tamas Hermann (HUN)

John Heron (SCO)

Jean-Francois Stappaerts (BEL)

Pierre-Philippe van Besien (BEL)

U4E Coordinator

Paul Box-Grainger (ENG)

Related Posts

Christmas comes early for Georgian Hockey!

The EHF is delighted to announce that whilst we will be launching the EHF Solidarity Grant system in 2021, the hockey players in Georgia will be the first to receive a much needed boost with sticks and balls coming directly from the EHF in the coming weeks! Recently...

EHF Executive Board Meeting – December 2020

The EHF Executive Board will have its final 2020 meeting via video conference on 12th December 2020. Agenda Presidents Welcome World Cup Qualification Update and discussion EHC 2023 Bid Recommendation Indoor Commercial Update Finance Update Committee Reports A full...