EHL Round 1 line-up for Banbridge confirmed

Posted On 14th July 2016

The line-up for Round 1 of the Euro Hockey League in Banbridge was confirmed this morning at the draw conducted by EHF President Marijke Fleuren, Vice President Jorge Alcover and Director General Angus Kirkland in Barcelona this morning.

Group A sees reigning champions SV Kampong face a huge battle in their bid to retain the title, facing English newcomers Holcombe who bring a wealth of GB Olympic talent. The group is completed by outsiders KS AZS AWF Poznan who will play in their second EHL campaign.

Three-time champions UHC Hamburg head up Group B where they will face Welsh champions Cardiff & Met and Italian winners SG Amsicora.

Hosts Banbridge line out alongside Belgian third place finishers Royal Leopold in Group C along with French runners-up Saint Germain.

Group D, meanwhile, sees FINAL4 side Atlètic Terrassa hoping to succeed against Russia’s Dinamo Kazan – one of just two ever-present sides in the EHL – and Scotland’s champions Kelburne.

The match schedule for Round 1 will be confirmed and released on Monday, July 18 at 1pm (CET). Tickets will also go on sale at this time.

Twelve sides have received byes through to the KO16 of the EHL. They will play in the knock-out phases of the competition which will take place from April 14 to 17, 2017.

They are AH&BC Amsterdam and HC Oranje-Rood from the Netherlands; Rot Weiss Köln and Mannheimer HC from Germany; Club Egara and Real Club de Polo de Barcelona from Spain; KHC Dragons and Racing Club de Bruxelles from Belgium; Ireland’s Lisnagarvey; England’s Wimbledon; France’s Racing Club de France and Poland’s WKS Grunwald Poznan.

Group A: SV Kampong (NED), KS AZS AWF Poznan, (POL), Holcombe HC (ENG)

Group B: UHC Hamburg (GER), Cardiff & Met (WAL), SG Amsicora (ITA)

Group C: Royal Leopold (BEL), Saint Germain (FRA), Banbridge (IRL)

Group D: Atlètic Terrassa (ESP), Kelburne (SCO), Dinamo Kazan (RUS)

Source: EHL

Related Posts

Christmas comes early for Georgian Hockey!

The EHF is delighted to announce that whilst we will be launching the EHF Solidarity Grant system in 2021, the hockey players in Georgia will be the first to receive a much needed boost with sticks and balls coming directly from the EHF in the coming weeks! Recently...

EHF Executive Board Meeting – December 2020

The EHF Executive Board will have its final 2020 meeting via video conference on 12th December 2020. Agenda Presidents Welcome World Cup Qualification Update and discussion EHC 2023 Bid Recommendation Indoor Commercial Update Finance Update Committee Reports A full...