#FridayFocus – European and UDP umpires at the Olympic Finals

Posted On 19th August 2016

Following last week’s spotlight on UDP at the Olympics Games in Rio, EHF is delighted to find that UDP’s own Laurine Delforge (BEL) has been appointed to umpire the final gold medal match of this Olympics, alongside South Africa’s Michelle Joubert. The final will see Great Britain take on the Netherlands, who are pursuing their third consecutive Olympic gold. On finding out about her appointment, following a great performance at her very first Olympics, Laurine tweeted: “Crying tears of joy. Can’t believe I’m appointed to the FINAL of the #Olympics.” The final will take place this evening at 22:00 CET.

Sarah Wilson (SCO), also a UDP family member has been appointed to the Bronze medal match between Germany and New Zealand. Sarah will umpire this match alongside Argentina’s Irene Presenqui. The Bronze medal match will take place today at 17:00 CET.

Sara Wilson (SCO)

On the men’s side, Germany’s Christian Blasch umpired the final match up between Belgium and Argentina, alongside South Africa’s John Wright. This is Christian’s fourth Olympic Games. The bronze medal match saw Germany meet the Netherlands and emerge victorious, with Spain’s Marcelo Serveto and Great Britain’s Martin Madden umpiring.

As the hockey ends at these Olympic Games, the European Hockey Federation would like to congratulate Laurine and Sarah on this wonderful and well-deserved achievement but also congratulate and thank all the European Officials at these games!

Edna Rutten (NED), Sylvie Petitjean (FRA), Christian Deckenbrock (GER) and Bjorn Isberg (SWE) – Assistant Technical Delegates.

Antonio Aguilera (ESP) – Judge

Henrik Ehlers (DEN) – Umpires Manager

Carol Metchette (IRL) and Andy Mair (GBR) – Video Umpires

Fanneke Alkemade (NED), Laurine Delforge (BEL), Elena Eskina (RUS), Michelle Meister (GER), Sarah Wilson (GBR), Christian Blasch (GER), Marcin Grochal (POL), Martin Madden (GBR), Marcelo Servetto (ESP), Nathan Stagno (GBR), Coen Van Bunge (NED) and Paco Vazquez (ESP) – Umpires.



Related Posts

Christmas comes early for Georgian Hockey!

The EHF is delighted to announce that whilst we will be launching the EHF Solidarity Grant system in 2021, the hockey players in Georgia will be the first to receive a much needed boost with sticks and balls coming directly from the EHF in the coming weeks! Recently...

EHF Executive Board Meeting – December 2020

The EHF Executive Board will have its final 2020 meeting via video conference on 12th December 2020. Agenda Presidents Welcome World Cup Qualification Update and discussion EHC 2023 Bid Recommendation Indoor Commercial Update Finance Update Committee Reports A full...