#FridayFocus – Meet #UDP Group 11!

Posted On 23rd September 2016

The European Hockey Federation is  delighted to announce the  umpires who have been selected to UDP Group 11 (2017 – 2019):

Sandra Adell Puig (ESP)

Michael Dutrieux (BEL)

Miriam Gero (AUT)

Kevin Roberts (WAL)

Anne van den Bosch (BEL)

Hristiyan Vasilev (BUL)

With the introduction of the Umpiring Pathway, selection this year took a new approach. The umpires were part of the U4E group who umpired at the Push HC Trophy in Breda in August, which allowed the umpires to be judged on their live performance over the weekend.

The Pathway is already showing great signs, as two of the umpire selected for Group 11 were already members of U4E: Hristiyan Vasilev (BUL) was in the programme for 3 years, while Miriam Gero (AUT) who was in the programme for her second year. The Pathway is not only a better way of selecting for UDP, it is about providing real support, encouragement and coaching to young umpires across Europe.

UDP continues to be an important part of our Education strategy, and some of the successes of the programme were recently showcased at the Rio Olympics Games, where three  UDP umpires were part of the umpiring panel, and also received some incredible appointments:

Marcin Grochal (POL, UDP Group 1) – appointed to Men’s Semi Final

Sarah Wilson (SCO, UDP Group 4) – appointed to Women’s Bronze Medal Match

Laurine Delforge (BEL, UDP Group 7) – appointed to Women’s Final & Gold Medal Match

The Umpires 4 Europe Programme is now in its fourth year and proving both hugely popular and successful.  34 umpires – from 17 different nations – and six mentors spent a weekend in Breda (NED, 26th-28th August), which is followed up by working with their mentors on individual personal development plans.  A massive thank you to the mentors, who give so willingly and generously of their time and expertise who make a real difference to the umpires – Pierre-Philippe van Besien (BEL), Belen Gonzalez (ESP), Tamas Hermann (HUN), John Heron (SCO), Jean-Francois Stappaerts (BEL),  and Mirjam Wessel (NED).

The UDP programme also continues to go from strength to strength.  Group 8 are now in their final year under the guidance of Stella Bartlema (NED) and Juanma Requena (ESP), Group 9 are working with Andy Mair (SCO) and Karen Evans (WAL), whilst Group 10 started this year under Michiel Bruning (NED) and Carol Metchette (IRL).


If you have any questions about your Educational programmes for umpires, please contact us!


Related Posts

Christmas comes early for Georgian Hockey!

The EHF is delighted to announce that whilst we will be launching the EHF Solidarity Grant system in 2021, the hockey players in Georgia will be the first to receive a much needed boost with sticks and balls coming directly from the EHF in the coming weeks! Recently...

EHF Executive Board Meeting – December 2020

The EHF Executive Board will have its final 2020 meeting via video conference on 12th December 2020. Agenda Presidents Welcome World Cup Qualification Update and discussion EHC 2023 Bid Recommendation Indoor Commercial Update Finance Update Committee Reports A full...