HC Oranje-Rood to host EHL KO16 in 2017!

14th October 2016

The Euro Hockey League (EHL) and the European Hockey Federation are delighted to announce HC Oranje-Rood, Eindhoven, as the hosts of the EHL KO16 which will take place from April 14 to 17, 2017.

The KO16 will be the first major event hosted by Oranje-Rood at their Eindhoven home since the amalgamation of 2015 EHL champions HC Oranje-Zwart and EMHC.

The venue hosted the climax of the 2013-14 EHL season but has since built a spectacular new clubhouse and attractive new surface that will provide the perfect platform for the world’s best club hockey competition.

Speaking about the choice of hosts, EHL chairman Hans-Erik Tuijt said: “The EHL is  delighted that we are able to make a multi-year deal with HC Oranje Rood for hosting the KO16.  EHL have ambitions to grow all of the rounds of the competition and the size and scale of the venue will allow us to host a superlative competition. Alongside the main event, we have many plans for utilising the facilities at HC Oranje Rood, which are second to none, to engage all our hockey followers both young and old. The partnership with the club will also extend to the City of Eindhoven and Province Noord Brabant. This partnership will allow us to establish longer term deals with commercial partners to continue to build the EHL as a must-see event for hockey fans.”

Simon van den Boomen from HC Oranje Rood said: “We are proud to be the host of such a prestigious event. The teams and visitors can be sure that HC Oranje Rood will do its utmost to contribute to a spectacular EHL KO16 and KO8 event.

The announcement comes soon after a hugely successful first EHL visit to Ireland with record breaking  crowds enjoying the sensational hosting by Banbridge Hockey Club for ROUND1.

Banbridge qualified for the KO16 for the first time with a dramatic draw against Royal Leopold to eliminate the Belgian side. In addition, UHC Hamburg, reigning champions SV Kampong and Atlètic Terrassa also advance to the knock-out stages.

That quartet will join the 12 pre-qualified sides: HC Oranje-Rood (NED), AHBC Amsterdam (NED), KTHC Rot-Weiss Koln (GER), Mannheimer HC (GER), KHC Dragons (BEL), Racing Club de Bruxelles (BEL), Club Egara (ESP), Real Club de Polo (ESP), Wimbledon (ENG), Racing Club de France (FRA), WKS Grunwald Poznan (POL) and Lisnagarvey HC (IRL).

The draw for the EHL KO16 will be announced on November 18 with a match schedule and ticket sales to be announced shortly afterwards.

You May Also Like…

EHF Announces New Committees

The EHF has announced today new Committees for the period January 2020 - December 2021. Some changes have been made to...

This function has been disabled for European Hockey Archive.