Voting for 2016 FIH Hockey Stars Awards open

Posted On 16th November 2016

16 November 2016: Voting is now open for this year’s International Hockey Federation (FIH) Hockey Stars Awards, the annual prizes recognising the best athletes, coaches and umpires in a given calendar year.

We are delighted that 18 players are from Europe along with 3 European coaches have made the shortlist for the 2016 FIH Hockey Star Awards.

Hockey fans are being urged to vote for their hockey heroes now via, with voting closing at midnight (Central European Time) on Friday 2 December 2016. Vote European!!!!!

The men’s and women’s Player, Goalkeeper and Rising Star Award winners will be decided by the combined results of an online public vote and a peer vote from international athletes; the Coach of the Year awards by a peer vote and the Umpiring Awards by the FIH Umpiring Committee.

Five male and five female nominees have been shortlisted for each of the Player, Goalkeeper and Rising Star awards, whilst three coaches from each gender have been nominated for the 2016 Hockey Stars Coach of the Year awards.

The Player, Goalkeeper and Rising Star awards were selected by a panel consisting of the FIH Athletes’ Committee, Continental Federation Presidents, top international coaches and FIH media personnel and staff. The shortlists were compiled based on athletes’ performances at international events during the 2016 season, as well as their overall contribution to the sport. Shortlisted nominees are presented in no particular order as follows:

Carla Rebecchi (ARG); Kate Richardson-Walsh (GBR); Stacey Michelsen (NZL); Alex Danson (GBR); Naomi van As (NED).

Men: Gonzalo Peillat (ARG); John-John Dohmen (BEL); Moritz Fürste (GER); Tobias Hauke (GER); Pedro Ibarra (ARG).

Maddie Hinch (GBR); Joyce Sombroek (NED); Kristina Reynolds (GER); Jackie Briggs (USA); Belen Succi (ARG).

Men: Juan Vivaldi (ARG); Jaap Stockmann (NED); Vincent Vanasch (BEL); David Harte (IRL); Parattu Raveendran Sreejesh (IND)

2016 RISING STAR OF THE YEAR NOMINATIONS (Players 23 and under)

Women: Maria Granatto (ARG); Lily Owsley (GBR); Nike Lorenz (GER); Kathryn Slattery (AUS); Florencia Habif (ARG).

Men: Arthur van Doren (BEL); Christopher Rühr (GER); Jorrit Croon (NED); Harmanpreet Singh (IND); Timm Herzbruch (GER).

Alyson Annan (Team: NED); Karen Brown (Team: GBR); Janneke Schopman (Team: USA).

Men: Carlos Retegui (Team: ARG); Danny Kerry (Team: GBR); Shane McLeod (Team: BEL).

For more information about the FIH Hockey Stars Awards,

Photograph: ANTWERP –    John-John (C) Dohmen (l)  , umpires Gareth Greenfield and John Wright and Irish captain David Harte (r)   Belgium vs Ireland .  (WSP COPYRIGHT KOEN SUYK)

Related Posts

Christmas comes early for Georgian Hockey!

The EHF is delighted to announce that whilst we will be launching the EHF Solidarity Grant system in 2021, the hockey players in Georgia will be the first to receive a much needed boost with sticks and balls coming directly from the EHF in the coming weeks! Recently...

EHF Executive Board Meeting – December 2020

The EHF Executive Board will have its final 2020 meeting via video conference on 12th December 2020. Agenda Presidents Welcome World Cup Qualification Update and discussion EHC 2023 Bid Recommendation Indoor Commercial Update Finance Update Committee Reports A full...