HC ‘s-Hertogenbosch are once again the European Champions!

20th May 2018

20th May 2018: Following the smallest of margins HC ‘s-Hertogenbosch once again lifted the European Cup as they overcame UHC Hamburg with a last minute goal from Pleunke van der PLAS to bring the score to 2-1. 

AH&BC Amsterdam 1 – Club Campo De Madrid 2

Earlier in the day Club de Campo de Madrid beat AH&BC also with a scoreline of 2-1.  Club Campo De Madrid finished third. Five minutes in Rebecca Grote gave Madrid the lead with a drag-flick from the Spanish club’s second penalty corner. Amsterdam levelled in the 17th minute, Kelly Jonker firing in from an acute angle from the right of the circle. The deciding goal came in the 28th minute, Beatriz Perez Lagunas scoring with a diving finish from the right of the circle. Trailing 2-1 with just over five minutes to play, Amsterdam replaced their goalkeeper with a kicking back, but to no avail as time ran out for an equaliser.

UHC Hamburg 1 Den Bosch 2

Den Bosch repeated their 2-1 win from the 2017 final on home turf, at a hot Surbiton Hockey Club today. The first half was close with both teams testing each other, although Den Bosch came close to breaking the deadlock at the end of the first half having two chances to score. The reigning Champions came even closer at the start of the third quarter, Hamburg having to clear the ball off the line. Den Bosch took the lead at the end of the third quarter, Fréderique Matla smashing in a reverse stick shot. Hamburg came back in the 51st minute, Katharina Frank sending the ball into the top right corner from the left of the circle. With the match heading for a shootout, Den Bosch began an attack from within their own half, Matla crossing from the right for Pleunke van der Plas to shoot high into the net and seal another EHCC title.

Final Ranking: 

  1. HC ‘s-Hertogenbosch, Champions 
  2. UHC Hamburg
  3. Club de Camp de Madrid
  4. AH&BC Amsterdam
  5. Mannheimer HC
  6. Victoria Smolovechi
  7. Surbiton HC
  8. UCD Ladies HC

Photograph: Winners! HC ‘s-Hertogenbosch (Ady Kerry (C))



You May Also Like…

EHF Announces New Committees

The EHF has announced today new Committees for the period January 2020 - December 2021. Some changes have been made to...

This function has been disabled for European Hockey Archive.