#FridayFocus Coaches for Europe & Top Coaches Programme Selection – 2019

Posted On 9th November 2018

The EHF is delighted to announce its selection for C4E and TCP programmes for 2019.

Inez Cooper, Chair of the EHF Education Committee said: “It is very encouraging for the EHF to see that there are so many brilliant coaches in Europe who are looking to learn, improve and further their coaching careers.”

She added “We are delighted that we have the highest representation of women on our programmes to date (over 20% of the selection being women). However, we know that at grassroots coaching level there are many women coaches, so today we are asking our Member Associations to continue to work with us to promote women coaches to the highest level of coaching. Only through good, solid education can we improve and develop our women coaches and become more gender equal, not only at grassroots but at the highest level in our sport.”

Finally, she wished all the coaches well on the programmes “I hope they have a lot of fun learning together with their mentors! It can be a lonely road as a coach, often having to make tough decisions, but with these programmes, our coaches will forever have a network of like-minded people in their lives.”

The full mentor team for these programmes will be announced in due course.

Well done to all!

Coaches for Europe (C4E)
Year Group Nation Full Name Gender
2 Ireland Noelle Farrell Female
2 England Jack Peter Rolfe Male
1 Turkey Serdar Celasun Male
1 Denmark Jonas Graversen Male
1 Norway Usman Iqbal Male
2 Russia Minasyan Gor Male
2 England Samuel Rowe Male
2 Croatia Neven Josip Polak Male
1 Belgium Dominique Vanderauwera Female
1 Luxembourg Ignacio Gómez-Acebo Díez Male
2 Denmark Jeff Retslov Male
2 Serbia Bojana Stankovic Female
2 Croatia Tin Matkovic Male
1 Bulgaria Veselin Atanasov Dobrev Male
1 Spain Ion Camio Lopez Male
2 Belarus Aliaksei Stanilevich Male
2 Ireland David McGivern Male
2 Norway Mohammad Khidash Kiyani Male
1 England Shenarda Dedic Female
1 Wales Ian Haley Male
2 Denmark Jakob Vesterli Male
2 Portugal Paulo Renato Vieira Mendes Male
1 Russia Iuliia Ashurova Female
1 Croatia Alexksandr Lykov Male
1 England Duncan Buckmaster Male


Top Coaches Programme (TCP)
Year Group Nation Full Name Gender
2 England Michael Hughes Male
2 Italy Fabrizio Mattei Male
2 Belgium Anne-Sophie Van Regemortel Female
1 Ireland Gavin Thomas Groves Male
1 Portugal João Miguel Domingues Lopes de Freitas Male
2 Belgium Joy Jouret Female
2 England James Culnane Male
2 Ireland Gareth Grundie Male
1 Russia Valentina Apelganets Female
1 Spain Aitor Cubero Medina Male
2 Netherlands Steven van Tijn Male
2 Ireland Sarah Scott Female
1 Belgium Maxime Bergez Male
1 Germany Julian Tarres Male
1 Wales Chris Marriott Male
2 Portugal Fernando Gomes Male
2 Germany Jonathan Elliott Male
1 Belgium Louise Cavenaile Female
1 England Mike Irving Male
1 Spain Hector Caballero Male
2 Sweden Christoffer Thorsten Bemert Male
2 Belgium Jeroen Vandenborne Male
1 England Leigh Maasdorp Female
1 Spain Jordi Alastrue Lamas Male
1 Belgium Maxime Bertrand Male

Should you have any questions or queries, please do not hesitate to contact Tom Pedersen-Smith, EHF Development & Education Manager (development@eurohockey.org).

Pictured current coach of  K. MECHELSE T.H.C., Dominique Van der Auwera (Belgium) 


Related Posts

Christmas comes early for Georgian Hockey!

The EHF is delighted to announce that whilst we will be launching the EHF Solidarity Grant system in 2021, the hockey players in Georgia will be the first to receive a much needed boost with sticks and balls coming directly from the EHF in the coming weeks! Recently...

EHF Executive Board Meeting – December 2020

The EHF Executive Board will have its final 2020 meeting via video conference on 12th December 2020. Agenda Presidents Welcome World Cup Qualification Update and discussion EHC 2023 Bid Recommendation Indoor Commercial Update Finance Update Committee Reports A full...