#FridayFocus Namaste to the European Officials in Bhubaneswar

Posted On 30th November 2018

Always on a Friday, we take time to check out our Education and Development programmes, we call this our #FridayFocus!

Today we are delighted that so many of mentors, students and graduates of our programmes have made the grade to the top of the ‘heap’, they are currently officiating at the Odisha Hockey World Cup in Bhubaneswar.

So who are they?

Christian Deckenbroek from Germany is the Technical Delegate. He is joined by 2 very experienced TDs as his Technical Officials in Bjorn Isberg (SWE) and Edna Rutten (NED).

The umpiring team is lead by Umpire Manager Philip Schellekens (NED) and Carol Metchette (IRL) is the Video Umpire Coach, a recent role developed by the FIH to allow Video umpire experts like Carol to train up our field umpires into this very important role.

A number of umpires are from Europe, Marcin Grochal (POL), Martin Madden (SCO), Gregory Uyttenhove (BEL), Jonas van ‘tHek (NED), Dan Barstow (ENG), Ben Goentgen (GER) and Paco Vazquez (ESP). Both Marcin and Jonas are graduates of the very successful UDP Programme, with Edna, Philip and Carol involved over the years as mentors. Marcin and Martin clearly demonstrate that you do not have to be from a top hockey-playing nation in the world to make it to the top of your umpiring career.

UDP: (l-r) Edna Rutten, Marcin Grochal, Philip Schellekens, Jonas van ‘t Hek, Carol Metchette

A highly qualified group of officials that we are incredibly proud of and we have no doubt will add fairness and a level playing field to the athletes.

We wish them all well over the coming 2 and a bit weeks!

To catch up on all the Hockey World Cup news, click here.

Main photograph:

Back l-r: Philip Schellekens, Bjorn Isberg, Ben Goentgen, Edna Rutten, Christian Deckenbroek, Gregory Uyttenhove, Marcin Grochal.

Front l-r: Martin Madden, Paco Vazquez, Carol Metchette, Dan Barstow, Jonas van ‘tHek.




Related Posts

Christmas comes early for Georgian Hockey!

The EHF is delighted to announce that whilst we will be launching the EHF Solidarity Grant system in 2021, the hockey players in Georgia will be the first to receive a much needed boost with sticks and balls coming directly from the EHF in the coming weeks! Recently...

EHF Executive Board Meeting – December 2020

The EHF Executive Board will have its final 2020 meeting via video conference on 12th December 2020. Agenda Presidents Welcome World Cup Qualification Update and discussion EHC 2023 Bid Recommendation Indoor Commercial Update Finance Update Committee Reports A full...