EHF Hall of Fame- Send your nominations now!

Posted On 22nd March 2019


Send your longlist nominations now for the 2019 EHF Hall of Fame –  What retired European International player should enter the Hall of Fame?  Which retired European players have made an impact on you- both on and off the pitch?

Click here: EHF Hall of Fame Nomination

Previous inductees: Teun de Nooijer (NED), Santi Freixa (ESP), Natascha Keller (GER), Pol Amat (ESP), Nikki Symmons (IRL),  Kate Richardson-Walsh (ENG), Maartje Paumen (NED) and Moritz Fürste (GER).

About the EHF Hall of Fame

Since its foundation in 1969, the EHF has always valued its players with Best Player, Most Valuable Player and Best Goalkeeper awards at all of our Tournaments. However in recent years, as the players, coaches and umpires have perfomed better, given more, developed themselves through their actions on and off the field of play, we feel that it is now time to honour those very special people that are involved on the field in hockey. The idea of a Hall of Fame, a place (albeit a virtual one) where people can admire, enjoy and revel in the achievements of the greatest in our sport.

The EHF Hall of Fame is our way of honouring and highlighting some of the most significant figures in European Hockey. The inaugural inductees into the EHF Hall of Fame are all International Senior players, have all consistently displayed high levels of sportsmanship, and have had a deep and meaningful impact in hockey on and off the pitch.

The official launch of the EHF Hall of Fame took place during the TriFinance EuroHockey Championships in Boom, BEL on the 23rd – 24th August, 2013. Teun de Nooijer (NED), Santi Freixa (ESP) & Natascha Keller (GER) were inducted.

In 2015, the EHF inducted two new members during the Unibet EuroHockey Championships in London, ENG. On 29th August 2015; Pol Amat (ESP) and Nikki Symmons (IRL) joined the elite group of EHF Hall of Famers.

During the women’s final at the Rabo EuroHockey Championships, EHF presented on the pitch the three latest inductees to its prestigious Hall of Fame. Kate Richardson-Walsh (ENG), Maartje Paumen (NED) and Moritz Fürste (GER) were joined on the Wagener Stadium pitch by EHF President Marijke Fleuren and previous Hall of Fame inductees Teun de Nooijer, Pol Amat and Santi Freixa.


Related Posts

Christmas comes early for Georgian Hockey!

The EHF is delighted to announce that whilst we will be launching the EHF Solidarity Grant system in 2021, the hockey players in Georgia will be the first to receive a much needed boost with sticks and balls coming directly from the EHF in the coming weeks! Recently...

EHF Executive Board Meeting – December 2020

The EHF Executive Board will have its final 2020 meeting via video conference on 12th December 2020. Agenda Presidents Welcome World Cup Qualification Update and discussion EHC 2023 Bid Recommendation Indoor Commercial Update Finance Update Committee Reports A full...