EHF announces selection for EHF Coaches for Europe (C4E) & Top Coaches Programme (TCP)

Posted On 14th October 2020

Announcing the selection for C4E and TCP, Chair of the Coaching Committee, Inez Cooper said:

Following the selection process by the EHF Coaching Committee, we are delighted to announce that a total of 58 participants have been chosen to take part in the two programmes. We have increased the positions available in each programme following consultation and a review of the coaching framework.

We spent a considerable amount of time deciding how best to allocate the available places. Ultimately, with 40 coaches secured places on the 2021 programme owing to the cancellation this year due to COVID-19, the decision process was dependant on the combination of four criteria areas 1) The quality of the curriculum vitae (CV) 2) answers to the questions in the nomination, 3) allowing a mix of nations represented, and 4) remaining true to the Equally Amazing Gender Balance Charter for Europe, maximising where the possible, gender balance. With this in mind two places remain available on the TCP programme for female coaches, the EHF will look to work with National Associations to fulfil these positions before the end of 2020 if the correct standard of coaches are submitted (a further correspondence will go out about this).

We are encouraged by such a fantastic response and urge National Associations to continue to nominate coaches in future years, they are crucial to our game. We hope all coaches have a great experience on C4E & TCP.

For those who may be disappointed at missing out on selection this year, there will be another opportunity next year! We wish to remind National Associations that, C4E & TCP are 2-year programmes, there is though no restriction on the number of years for which coaches can apply to and be part of the EHF Coaching Pathway.

Selected C4E Coaches for 2021

Year 1
Male Aleš Skalič SLO
Male Alexksandr Lykov CRO
Female Alicja Koperska POL
Male Andrej Grah SLO
Male Benjamin Laffineur FRA
Male Darren Wilkinson IRL
Male Edgar Legierski POL
Male Guillaume Roussel FRA
Female Haussener Linda BEL
Male Ian Hughes IRL
Female Jakus Carolien BEL
Male Jesper Holt Jonasson DEN
Male Josip Briski CRO
Female Leyla Öztürk TUR
Male Matus Parajka SLK
Female Megan Holt Jonasson DEN
Female Nina Bolluijt BEL
Male Robert Sorrell WAL
Male Serkan Şen TUR

Year 2:
Female Dominique Vanderauwera BEL
Male Duncan Buckmaster ENG
Male Ian Haley WAL
Male Ignacio Gómez-Acebo Díez LUX
Male Ion Camio Lopez ESP
Female Iuliia Ashurova RUS
Male Jonas Graversen DEN
Male Serdar Celasun TUR
Female Shenarda Dedic ENG
Male Usman Iqbal NOR
Male Veselin Atanasov Dobrev BUL

Selected TCP Coaches for 2021

MALE Andrew Brogdon SCO
MALE Casper Claassen LTU
FEMALE Daniela Possali ITA
MALE Dariusz Rachwalski POL
MALE Facundo Quiroga SUI
MALE Guillermo Carnice ESP
MALE James Bateman ENG
MALE Joel Cathcart IRL
MALE Jose Luis Sanchez Rama ESP
MALE Keith Smith SCO
MALE Maurice Dubois BEL
MALE Nils Helbig GER
MALE Piotr Mazany POL
MALE Richard Barlow GER
MALE Robert Richeter GER
MALE Robin Taylor ENG
FEMALE Sarah Kelleher ENG
MALE Simon Lowry IRL
MALE Tin Matkovic CRO
MALE Tsimashkou Tsimur BLR

Year 2
MALE Chris Marriott WAL
MALE Christoffer Thorsten Bemert SWE
MALE Julian Tarres GER
MALE Maxime Bergez BEL
MALE Maxime Bertrand BEL
MALE Mike Irving ENG
FEMALE Valentina Apelganets RUS

Photograph: Sarah Kelleher, England U18 Coach, EuroHockey Youth Championships 2018 (World Sport Pics (c))

Related Posts

Christmas comes early for Georgian Hockey!

The EHF is delighted to announce that whilst we will be launching the EHF Solidarity Grant system in 2021, the hockey players in Georgia will be the first to receive a much needed boost with sticks and balls coming directly from the EHF in the coming weeks! Recently...

EHF Executive Board Meeting – December 2020

The EHF Executive Board will have its final 2020 meeting via video conference on 12th December 2020. Agenda Presidents Welcome World Cup Qualification Update and discussion EHC 2023 Bid Recommendation Indoor Commercial Update Finance Update Committee Reports A full...